Banter or Hate Crime?

CovJet

Dear Toon fans,

I’m a Wolves fan – coming in peace and hoping you can help me out…but before I start, congrats on an unbelievable season.

I’m a senior Lecturer at Birmingham City University, writing academic papers as part of my PhD portfolio (Koln University). My research has a focus on the language used by football fans at games – for some people it’s ‘banter’ and for others, it has become a ‘hate crime’. It is a complex, emotive issue.

I want to find out what you think of the language used – I want you to be honest. 

The questionnaire is entirely voluntary and completely anonymous. I will only use the data I obtain for academic papers and once complete I will share the data with you on this forum. I have ethical approval granted from Koln University.

I will be comparing your answers with those from supporters of Arsenal, Wolves, Blackburn and Watford. 

The questionnaire should only take you a couple of minutes and I would like to thank you in advance. Here is the link:

https://questionpro.com/t/AX3LcZyJou

One last thing – we should definitely have had a penalty up at your place, shouldn’t we?

Kind regards,

Peter Evans 

Done and no re the pen 😂

Fwiw when experts, pros etc call em what you want say 'we don't want racism in our sport' imo they're failing to see it's what's in society and that person /people. 

You don't hang your suit up at a weekend, go to the game with the lads and suddenly change character do you? 

• Like 2

Thank you to all those who have replied so far. The replies so far are as follows:

Watford 60

Newcastle 35

Arsenal 5

(I haven't posted on Blackburn sites yet). Now we can't have the Toon behind Watford, so come on guys...

6 minutes ago, CovJet said:

Thank you to all those who have replied so far. The replies so far are as follows:

Watford 60

Newcastle 35

Arsenal 5

(I haven't posted on Blackburn sites yet). Now we can't have the Toon behind Watford, so come on guys....

No Way Reaction GIF